使用者工具

網站工具


 ?
zh-tw:everplast:plastic_materials:pe

PE(聚乙烯)

低密度聚乙烯(polyethylene,縮寫:PE)是日常生活中最常用的高分子材料之一,是塑膠的一種,大量用於製造塑膠袋,塑膠薄膜,牛奶桶的產品,也是白色污染的主要原因。

歷史

聚乙烯首先由德國化學家漢斯·馮·佩奇曼(Hans von Pechmann)合成,他於1898年在調查重氮甲烷時偶然製備了聚乙烯。當他的同事Eugen Bamberger和Friedrich Tschirner描述他創造的白色蠟狀物質時,他們認識到它含有長的-CH2-鏈並稱之為聚亞甲基。

1936年由ICI提供給第一磅聚乙烯製成的藥盒 第一個工業實用的聚乙烯合成(重氮甲烷是一種臭名昭著的不穩定物質,在工業應用中通常被避免)是由Eric Fawcett和Reginald Gibson於1933年在英格蘭Northwich的Imperial Chemical Industries(ICI)工作中偶然發現的。在將極高壓力(幾百個大氣壓)施加到乙烯和苯甲醛的混合物上時,它們再次產生白色蠟狀材料。由於反應是由其設備中的微量氧污染引起的,因此該實驗首先難以復制。直到1935年,另一位ICI化學家Michael Perrin才將這一事故發展成為可再生的聚乙烯高壓合成材料,從1939年開始成為工業低密度聚乙烯(LDPE)生產的基礎。因為發現聚乙烯非常在極高頻率無線電波的低損耗性能,英國的商業分佈在第二次世界大戰爆發時被暫停,保密措施,並且新工藝用於生產雷達組的UHF和SHF同軸電纜的絕緣。在第二次世界大戰期間,對ICI工藝進行了進一步的研究,並於1944年在德克薩斯州薩賓的Bakelite公司和西弗吉尼亞州查爾斯頓的杜邦公司開始在ICI的許可下進行大規模的商業生產。

聚乙烯商業生產的突破性里程碑始於催化劑的開發,催化劑在溫和的溫度和壓力下促進聚合。其中第一個是1951年由菲利普斯石油公司的Robert Banks和J. Paul Hogan發現的三氧化鉻催化劑。 1953年,德國化學家Karl Ziegler開發了一種基於鹵化鈦和有機鋁化合物的催化體系,該體系在比Phillips催化劑更溫和的條件下工作。然而,Phillips催化劑更便宜且更易於使用,並且這兩種方法在工業上大量使用。到20世紀50年代末,菲利普斯和齊格勒型催化劑都被用於HDPE生產。在20世紀70年代,Ziegler系統通過摻入氯化鎂得到改善。 Walter Kaminsky和HansjörgSinn在1976年報導了基於可溶性催化劑茂金屬的催化體系。事實證明,齊格勒和茂金屬催化劑系列在將乙烯與其他烯烴共聚方面非常靈活,並已成為當今廣泛的聚乙烯樹脂的基礎,包括極低密度聚乙烯和線性低密度聚乙烯。這種UHMWPE纖維形式的樹脂(截至2005年)已開始在許多高強度應用中取代芳族聚酰胺。

參考網址

zh-tw/everplast/plastic_materials/pe.txt · 上一次變更: 2019/08/25 15:11 由 emma_hsu

User Tools

Site Tools


 ?
everplast:plastic_materials:pe

Table of Contents

PE

Polyethylene or polythene (abbreviated PE; IUPAC name polyethene or poly(methylene)) is the most common plastic. As of 2017, over 100 million tonnes of polyethylene resins are produced annually, accounting for 34% of the total plastics market. Its primary use is in packaging (plastic bags, plastic films, geomembranes, containers including bottles, etc.). Many kinds of polyethylene are known, with most having the chemical formula (C2H4)n. PE is usually a mixture of similar polymers of ethylene with various values of n. Polyethylene is a thermoplastic; however, it can become a thermoset plastic when modified (such as cross-linked polyethylene).

History

Polyethylene was first synthesized by the German chemist Hans von Pechmann, who prepared it by accident in 1898 while investigating diazomethane. When his colleagues Eugen Bamberger and Friedrich Tschirner characterized the white, waxy substance that he had created, they recognized that it contained long –CH2– chains and termed it polymethylene.

A pill box presented to a technician at ICI in 1936 made from the first pound of polyethylene The first industrially practical polyethylene synthesis (diazomethane is a notoriously unstable substance that is generally avoided in industrial application) was discovered in 1933 by Eric Fawcett and Reginald Gibson, again by accident, at the Imperial Chemical Industries (ICI) works in Northwich, England. Upon applying extremely high pressure (several hundred atmospheres) to a mixture of ethylene and benzaldehyde they again produced a white, waxy material. Because the reaction had been initiated by trace oxygen contamination in their apparatus, the experiment was, at first, difficult to reproduce. It was not until 1935 that another ICI chemist, Michael Perrin, developed this accident into a reproducible high-pressure synthesis for polyethylene that became the basis for industrial low-density polyethylene (LDPE) production beginning in 1939. Because polyethylene was found to have very low-loss properties at very high frequency radio waves, commercial distribution in Britain was suspended on the outbreak of World War II, secrecy imposed, and the new process was used to produce insulation for UHF and SHF coaxial cables of radar sets. During World War II, further research was done on the ICI process and in 1944 Bakelite Corporation at Sabine, Texas, and Du Pont at Charleston, West Virginia, began large-scale commercial production under license from ICI.

The breakthrough landmark in the commercial production of polyethylene began with the development of catalyst that promoted the polymerization at mild temperatures and pressures. The first of these was a chromium trioxide–based catalyst discovered in 1951 by Robert Banks and J. Paul Hogan at Phillips Petroleum. In 1953 the German chemist Karl Ziegler developed a catalytic system based on titanium halides and organoaluminium compounds that worked at even milder conditions than the Phillips catalyst. The Phillips catalyst is less expensive and easier to work with, however, and both methods are heavily used industrially. By the end of the 1950s both the Phillips- and Ziegler-type catalysts were being used for HDPE production. In the 1970s, the Ziegler system was improved by the incorporation of magnesium chloride. Catalytic systems based on soluble catalysts, the metallocenes, were reported in 1976 by Walter Kaminsky and Hansjörg Sinn. The Ziegler- and metallocene-based catalysts families have proven to be very flexible at copolymerizing ethylene with other olefins and have become the basis for the wide range of polyethylene resins available today, including very low density polyethylene and linear low-density polyethylene. Such resins, in the form of UHMWPE fibers, have (as of 2005) begun to replace aramids in many high-strength applications.

Reference URL

everplast/plastic_materials/pe.txt · Last modified: 2019/08/23 18:33 by jonathan_tsai